## **NEVADA STUDENT ALLIANCE (NSA)**

June 5, 2014
7:00 a.m. – 7:45 a.m.
Truckee Meadows Community College
7000 Dandini Boulevard
Reno, NV 89512
Red Mountain Building, Room 122

ROLL CALL: Mr. Elias Benjelloun, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, CSUN

Ms. RJ Boyajian, University of Nevada, Reno, GSA

Mr. David Cortez-Lopez, Nevada State College, NSSA

Mr. Angelo DePerez, Western Nevada College, ASWN

Mr. William McCurdy, College of Southern Nevada, ASCSN

Mr. Jake Pereira, University of Nevada, Reno, ASUN

Mrs. Stephanie Prevost, Truckee Meadows Community College, SGA

Ms. DeMarynee Saili, Great Basin College, SGA

Ms. Sharon Young, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, GPSA

**Desert Research Institute, GRAD** 

# IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE AGENDA AND PUBLIC MEETING

NOTE: Below is an agenda of all items scheduled to be considered. Notification is hereby provided that items on the agenda may be taken out of the order presented, two or more agenda items may be combined for consideration, and an agenda item may be removed from the agenda or discussion relating to an item on the agenda may be delayed at any time.

In accordance with NRS 241.020(6), supporting materials that are submitted to the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) Office of Academic and Student Affairs will be made available in advance of the meeting as follows: 1) from the NSHE Office of Academic and Student Affairs by calling Sally Jackson at (775) 784-3443 or emailing her at Sally\_Jackson@nshe.nevada.edu; or, 2) by accessing the electronic version of the agenda posted on the NSA page of the NSHE website:

#### http://www.nevada.edu/studentgov/

In additional, a limited number of copies of any such supporting materials will be available at the meeting site.

Reasonable efforts will be made to assist and accommodate physically disabled persons attending the meeting. Please call the Academic & Student Affairs Office in advance at (775) 784-3443 or (775) 784-3447 so that arrangements may be made.

### 1. PUBLIC COMMENT

## **INFORMATION**

Public comment will be taken during this agenda item. No action may be taken on a matter raised under this item until the matter is included on an agenda as an item on which action may be taken. Comments will be limited to three minutes per person. Persons making comment will be asked to begin by stating their name for the record and to spell their last name. The NSA Chair may elect to allow additional public comment on a specific agenda item when that agenda item is being considered.

In accordance with Attorney General Opinion No. 00-047, as restated in the Attorney General's Open Meeting Law Manual, the NSA Chair may prohibit comment if the content of that comment is a topic that is not relevant to, or within the authority of, the NSA, or if the content is willfully disruptive of the meeting by being irrelevant, repetitious, slanderous, offensive, inflammatory, irrational or amounting to personal attacks or interfering with the rights of other speakers.

#### 2. WELCOME TO NEW MEMBERS

**INFORMATION** 

Outgoing 2013-14 NSA Chair Alex Porter will welcome the new members to their first meeting.

#### 3. ELECTION OF NEW OFFICERS

# FOR POSSIBLE ACTION

NSHE Director of Student Affairs and NSA Adviser Renée Davis will introduce herself to the group and open up the floor for nominations for the three 2014-15 NSA officers: chair, vice chair and secretary. Candidates for each office must be elected by at least two-thirds of voting representatives at this (the first) meeting. No member institution may hold consecutive terms in the same office. Chair and Vice-chair cannot be from the same member institution.

# 4. OPEN MEETING LAW

**INFORMATION** 

Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs Brooke Nielsen will provide a briefing to NSA members regarding Open Meeting Law.

#### 5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

FOR POSSIBLE ACTION

Request is made for the approval of the minutes for NSA meetings held on April 14, April 30 and May 12, 2014.

# 6. NSA CHAIR'S REPORT

**INFORMATION** 

NSA members will discuss the contents of the Chair Report that will be delivered to the Board of Regents on June 5, 2014.